Hailing from Dallas, TX, Sloth Fist are a punk / rock ‘n’ roll band that combine the melodic sense of The Descendents and Teenage Bottlerocket with the fierceness of bands like Motorhead, The Bronx and Turbonegro.  The result is an eclectic mix of songs that will satisfy anyone who likes their music hard and heavy, but still catchy with hooks galore.

The brainchild of songwriter / vocalist / guitarist Eric Daniels (Bullet Machine, Black Habits, Responsible Johnny), the band also features Rafael Genovez (Responsible Johnny) on drums, Marc Maxey (Justice League, The Killing Flame) on bass, and Matt Thomas (Slave One, Neighborhood Villain, Bullet Machine) on guitar.

Sloth Fist formed in 2018 and quickly began playing shows around the DFW metroplex, including a show at the legendary Three Links in Deep Ellum with Japan’s Mugen Hoso.  Daniels, Genovez, and Maxey recorded and released their debut EP, “Live Slow, Die Whenever” in late 2018 as a 3 piece.

Soon after the EP release, Matt Thomas was recruited on guitar and the band played shows with Boston’s Moving Targets, heavy metal legends Thor, Denver’s In The Whale, New York’s The Bobby Lees, and Dag Nasty spinoff Field Day.  The band hit the studio in late 2019 to record the “Mothman is Real” LP.  Twelve blistering tracks were mixed by Andrew Berlin at The Blasting Room in CO and mastered by Joel Grind (Toxic Holocaust).  

Four videos were released from the LP including one for “Sloth Fist Will Be Annihilated”, filmed in quarantine times, with each member shooting their own footage at their homes and / or practice space.  For the end however, dozens of fans and friends submitted their own videos of themselves singing along to the song’s end chant “Live Slow, Die Whenever – SLOTH FIST”.  Some notable faces include Jeff Caudill (Gameface) and Peter Cortner (Dag Nasty / Field Day).  The debut 12” LP/CD hit stores and digital outlets in June 2020 via Mindpower Records. 

In late 2021, the band entered Café Solo Studios in Denton, TX to record the follow-up EP, “Bombs Away”.  Eight new songs were recorded that take more of a turn towards hard rock.  The record lacks any of the hardcore punk beats that showed up on a few tracks on “Mothman is Real”, instead focusing on mid-tempo driving songs with a more refined songwriting approach.  With lyrics written mainly during the pandemic, the record takes a much darker turn than past efforts.  The lead single, “Cut Through It” deals with The Great Resignation and lashes out at the current state of corporate greed.  The single dropped June 24, 2022, with several others following, and the full EP release on October 7.

Opening slots for Gameface, Agent Orange, and The Riverboat Gamblers followed throughout the year and tours are currently in the planning stages.